Skip to main content

Online Research Databases: Online Research Databases

Huntington Beach Public Library members have free access to a wealth of subscription databases containing a wide range of information from respected authors and journals.

Logging in from Home

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a  symbol.  

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Click Here for Remote Access" link below.  For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

eBooks, eAudio, and More

Digital Collection

Click the link above to view our digital collection of ebooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, videos, music and more.

Learn Something New

Lynda

 *New!* Lynda is an online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, technology, and creative skills. Access their full library of training videos for free with your Huntington Beach Public Library card!

Adult Learning Center

 Practice the GED, U.S. Citizenship Test, get resume and career help or improve your computer skills.  ASVAB, ESL, CBEST, TEAS, and more are available from the general Brainfuse homepage, under SkillSurfer. When logging in from home, click the lock icon and then choose "Brainfuse" from the list of links on the left.  

Census data, family, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories.

 Free online career assistance.  Includes expert resume advice, live career coaching, career resources, and much more.

\

 A comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.  Find your new favorite book!

 

General Research

Presents information on authors and literature, including biographies, book reviews, book overviews, literary criticism, primary sources, and literary works.

Credo

 Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject from Accounting to Art History and Shakespeare to Einstein.  Great for general reference and research.

 Search newspapers, such as the Orange County Register, magazines, and journal articles. Great for school and personal research.

Browse and search complete issues of Consumer Reports magazines and articles for reviews and recommendations before you make a purchase. (See "How Do I Access Consumer Reports from Home?")

Selected reference and encyclopedias are available including: Novels for Students, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of World Biography,Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of Religion and more! To access the Gale Online ebooks use your library card number for the password.

 Search for people and businesses in the United States.  Useful for market research and job seekers.  

Full-text biographical articles from Salem Press reference books; Great Lives from History and The 1980s in America.

 

Just for Kids!

 Search through books, articles, dictionaries and more. Great for biographies, state reports and research projects.

 Free homework help from live tutors 1 pm to 10 pm every day.  You can also get free writing assistance, skill tests and more.  Teens can get help applying for college or passing their SATs.  


 A database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.

TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.

What are Research Databases?

What are research databases?
Research databases are electronic resources that contain an organized body of related information from a wide range of well-known, authoritative sources. Although they are distributed via the Web, traditional search engines such as Google or Yahoo cannot easily retrieve the content (magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, television and radio broadcast transcripts, maps, photographs, pamphlets, etc.) in these resources. The scope of coverage varies—some databases such as EbscoHost are very broad, others such as the Mango Languages or Heritage Quest are more specialized.

section divider

What is the difference between using a database and doing a search on Google?
The information in databases has been reviewed and edited and comes from reliable, authoritative sources. Google returns results from public websites. Although there is an enormous volume of information on the Web, no oversight exists to guarantee the information retrieved is accurate, objective, and current.

section divider

Is there any charge for using them?
No. The Library has purchased subscriptions to these databases, so they can be provided free of charge to our patrons. Anyone can use them for free in the library and Library cardholders can also access the majority of the databases from home.


Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone 714-842-4481