Study Guides from The Princeton Review - From APs, ACTs, SATs, and everything in between, Princeton Review has helped millions succeed on standardized tests, and also provides expert advice and instruction to help parents, teachers, students, and schools navigate the complexities of school admissions. Check out their YouTube channel for regular video updates.
Thursday Talks: Weekly Academic Webinars from C2 Education - Every Thursday at 12pm or 6pm, C2 Education is hosting webinars on a variety of educational topics to help you navigate your learning experience in light of our new circumstances. Curious what's going on with UC admissions, or AP & SAT exams in light of COVID-19? Come ask the experts at C2: they have all the up-to-date info you need!
Our partners at C2 Education are now offering their services online, including virtual test prep, tutoring, and college counseling. You can request a no-cost consultation from them to determine if their paid services are right for you. For more free assistance, check out their blog and webinar recordings for helpful tips on studying for AP & SAT exams, making learning at home work for you, & applying for college.
Britannica School: Grades 6 - 8 - Britannica School offers up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, and other research tools that allow you to easily adjust reading levels, auto-translate in 80 languages, and use the read-aloud tool.
Britannica School: Grades 9 -12
Britannica Escolar - Britannica Escolar has 6th - 8th grade content that is similar to Britannica School: Middle but offered in native Spanish!
Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more for students in middle grades.
Gale In Context: High School provides grades 9-12 with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering student development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content for undergraduate students that reinforces skill development in problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Presents information on authors and literature, including biographies, book reviews, book overviews, literary criticism, primary sources, and literary works.
Selected reference and encyclopedias are available including: Novels for Students, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of World Biography,Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of Religion and more! To access the Gale Online ebooks use your library card number for the password.
Explore easy-to-understand encyclopedia articles, as well as links to related websites and magazine articles. An atlas is also included. Entries incorporate sounds, pictures, videos, and animations to make the information come alive. This resource is great for students of all ages.
Random House Middle School & High School Resources
Random House publishing offers us a TON of awesome content, including a Young Adult Creative Writing guide and guides to a variety of current fiction and non-fiction titles for teens and tweens.
Teaching Books - Book guides, activities, lessons, story maps, author interviews, book trailers, book readings and more all centered around your favorite YA titles!
Crash Course - Check out this fun and educational YouTube channel brought to you by John and Hank Green. There are tons of awesome courses in this one awesome channel! Everything from sociology, computer science, film history, mythology and even more. Check out the playlists for past courses in physics, philosophy, games, economics, U.S. government and politics, astronomy, anatomy & physiology, world history, biology, literature, ecology, chemistry, psychology, and U.S. history.
Science Rap Academy - Created by a former Stanford University teacher, this YouTube channel features educational science raps made with his teen students at The Nueva School in the Bay Area. If you're looking to cram some info for a biology or chemistry test in a fun, memorable way - check out these videos!
TED Ed - From cool animations to TED talks from teachers and students, check out this site to learn something cool and spark your curiosity.
Babbel - this language-learning app is free for K-12 and college students through mid-June 2020! Available on iOS and Android.
Duolingo - offers 94 different language courses, including 35 for English speakers, and all courses, lessons, and levels are totally free. Duolingo also offers podcasts in the language you want to learn! Also available for download on iOS and Android mobile devices.
Imagineering in a Box - Have you ever wondered how theme parks come to life? In this Khan Academy course, Disney Imagineers from hundreds of career disciplines around the world share how they use a wide range of skills – from story development and conceptual design, to math, physics and engineering – that all come together to create immersive experiences. Imagineering in a Box allows you to explore different aspects of theme park design, from characters to ride development, as you design a theme park of your very own.
MEL Science - the biggest library of hands-on chemistry experiments and useful science articles!
Scholastic Learn at Home - Check out their daily courses for middle and high school students to keep you thinking, learning, and growing.
Quar Eye: Cooking Lessons in Quarantine - Antoni Porowski of "Queer Eye" fame is hosting free cooking lessons everyday on his Instagram, using whatever materials he can find on hand at the grocery store and teaching us all how to improvise in the kitchen during quarantine.
Kitchen Quarantine - Michelin-starred Italian chef Massimo Bottura is also streaming himself cooking a meal everyday at 12 pm PST on Instagram.