Skip to main content

Teen Space: Your Library @ Home!

Your guide to all things teen at the Huntington Beach Public Library!

Your Library @ Home Banner

 


Submit your artwork to the HBPL Quaranzine!

 

Logging In to E-Resources

What Do I Need to Use e-Library Resources?

  • You will need a Huntington Beach Public Library card to access our e-resources.
  • Most resources will require you to log in with your library card number and 4-digit PIN. 
  • Your library card number is 14 digits, no spaces (normally begins with 2111900xxxxxxx).
  • Your PIN# is the last four numbers of your phone number when you registered for your library card.

Don't have a library card yet?
Click the button below to get signed up!

What Should I Read Next?

What Should I Read Next?

 Find your new favorite book with NoveList!

Check out this comprehensive book guide that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. 

Logging in from Home

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a  symbol.  

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Click Here for Remote Access" link below.  For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

What are Research Databases?

Research Databases Q&A

What are research databases?
Research databases are electronic resources that contain an organized body of related information from a wide range of well-known, authoritative sources. Although they are distributed via the Web, traditional search engines such as Google or Yahoo cannot easily retrieve the content (magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, television and radio broadcast transcripts, maps, photographs, pamphlets, etc.) in these resources. The scope of coverage varies—some databases such as EbscoHost are very broad, others such as Heritage Quest are more specialized.

section divider

What is the difference between using a database and doing a search on Google?
The information in databases has been reviewed and edited and comes from reliable, authoritative sources. Google returns results from public websites. Although there is an enormous volume of information on the Web, no oversight exists to guarantee the information retrieved is accurate, objective, and current.

section divider

Is there any charge for using them?
No. The Library has purchased subscriptions to these databases, so they can be provided free of charge to our patrons. Anyone can use them for free in the library and Library cardholders can also access the majority of the databases from home.

Digital Library Resources

 

Online database of graphic novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, and audiobooks. The collection is available online 24/7 - no downloads, holds, no waiting! If you can access the internet, you can be listening, reading, or watching awesome content. Teen BookCloud also offers Enhanced Novels: a collection of classic literature, YA novels, middle school chapter books, and non-fiction books that feature professional narration paired with line by line highlighting.
 

Borrow graphic novels, fiction titles, classics, nonfiction and more for free online in eBook format from Abdo Digital. Sort by middle school or high school to find titles for teens. For more nonfiction titles, check out the Booklinks Nonfiction Network or the Abdo Core Library Connection collections and sort by middle school or high school.

Audible Stories from Amazon

For as long as schools are closed, kids everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids.

All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

Explore the collection, select a title and start listening. It's that easy! Click here for additional information.


 



 

Check out comics, YA novels, classics, study guides and more in eBook format for free from Enki Library.
All you need is your library card!

 

 


new york times

 The California State Library is pleased to offer the New York Times online for California Public Libraries. This link features direct access to world class journalism from 1851 to right now, including all articles, multimedia, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese translations, mobile apps and much more. For access outside of the library's premises, please click on the lock symbol underneath the logo.

Research Databases

Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more for students in middle grades.

 

 

 

Gale In Context: High School provides grades 9-12 with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering student development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

 

 

Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content for undergraduate students that reinforces skill development in problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

 


Presents information on authors and literature, including biographies, book reviews, book overviews, literary criticism, primary sources, and literary works.

 

 

Selected reference and encyclopedias are available including: Novels for Students, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of World Biography,Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of Religion and more! To access the Gale Online ebooks use your library card number for the password.


 

 

 Search newspapers, such as the Orange County Register, magazines, and journal articles. Great for school and personal research. See a list of publications and newspapers

 

world book

Explore easy-to-understand encyclopedia articles, as well as links to related websites and magazine articles. An atlas is also included. Entries incorporate sounds, pictures, videos, and animations to make the information come alive. This resource is great for students of all ages.


Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone 714-842-4481