Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's History Month Resources
Celebrating Women's History
Teen Breathe Magazine
Call Number: Periodicals - 4th Floor
Publication Date: 2021 - 2022
Teen Breathe is a self-care magazine for teen girls that shares techniques to help you build a happier, healthier, more fulfilled life. From social media to sports and making friends to making flowers, this cozy magazine has tips, exercises and ideas to help you explore how paying attention to everything you do, being curious and staying positive can bring out the very best of You – a person who’s comfortable and proud in their own skin, is open to ideas and follows their dreams. And when they're not doing that? They'll be sharing techniques to get your pamper mode on - big time!
Whole Girl : live vibrantly, love your entire self, and make friends with food by
Call Number: YA 155.518 RAD
This book focuses on the author's three pillars for well-being for teenage girls: living a positive and empowered lifestyle, practicing mindful movement, and enjoying delicious, nutritious treats. Includes insights from wellness experts, suggestions for mindful movements, and 60 grain- and gluten-free, low-sugar recipes to fit your tastes and moods.
Call Number: YA 305.23 WUL
Sometimes you need inspiration, support, and advice to help you find your voice and believe in yourself. Girlish is a fun, feisty, information-packed handbook--part discovery course, part interactive journal--filled with quotes, tips, truth bombs, and profiles of amazing women from all walks of life, from Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Amy Poehler to Malala Yousafzai and Simone Biles. Embracing all the beauty, chaos, hope, and frustration of being a girl in the twenty‑first century, this book explores life topics including gender equality, body positivity, self-esteem, relationships, friendship, and even dealing with the mixed bag of the internet and social media. Thought-provoking questions dare you to define your values, set goals, dream BIG, and celebrate everything that makes you YOU!
Girlhood: Teens Around the World in Their Own Voices by
Call Number: YA 305.235 AHU
Journalist Masuma Ahuja introduces us to 31 teenage girls from 29 countries. Through diary entries and photographs, they share their own stories of growing up and show what ordinary girlhood is like all over the world.
Empowered Black Girl : joyful affirmations & words of resilience by
Call Number: YA 305.235 FIE
Take a deep breath. We don't always have to be strong. Sometimes, taking a break to focus on our mental health is bravery in itself. We find ourselves needing reminders that we are incredible and more than enough. This book brings you inspirational words of wisdom through fabulous Black female trailblazers who have changed the world, including Audre Lorde, Lupita Nyong'o and Angela Davis.
The Ultimate Survival Guide to Being a Girl by
Call Number: YA 305.235 WIT
Addressing the struggles of teen girls everywhere, this hilariously relatable comic guide to life provides real advice and encourages a new generation of girls to find their confidence and embrace their individuality.
You Don't Have to Be Everything : poems for girls becoming themselves by
Call Number: YA 811.608 YOU
Created and compiled just for young women, this collection of poetry is filled with work by a wide range of female poets who are honest, unafraid, and so wonderfully skilful at addressing the big feelings of coming-of-age - aloneness, longing, doubt, fear, sadness, anger, a need for approval, and an attitude that pretends none of it matters. But also joy, hope, celebration, solace, humor, and all the good things poetry brings.
Good Girls Don't Make History by
Call Number: YA 92 KIEHNER, E.
This important graphic novel amplifies the voices of female legends from 1840 to the present day. Inspiring stories from the lives of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Sojourner Truth, Alice Paul, Ida B. Wells, and Susan B. Anthony are boldly told from one of the most formative eras in women's history - the fight for the vote in the United States.
Billie Jean King : the Battle of the Sexes and Title IX by
Call Number: YA 92 KING, B.
Barriers have existed to deny people the chance to compete athletically based on their race, ethnic background, or sex. Some athletes, through their courage and class, have broken down the barriers that have afflicted our society, and sometimes affected greater social change. Billie Jean King changed attitudes toward women and sports with one gigantic victory, fought for equal tournament purses for female tennis players, and started a foundation that promoted athletic opportunities for women.
Make Trouble : Young Readers Edition by
Call Number: YA 92 RICHARDS, C.
From the former president of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, this memoir is about learning to lead and make change, based on a lifetime of fighting for women's rights and social justice. Sometimes, to make change, you have to make trouble.
Ms. Gloria Steinem by
Call Number: YA 92 STEINEM, G.
A timely and illuminating YA biography of political activist and feminist icon Gloria Steinem. Her strength and wisdom have inspired women for generations, but Gloria Steinem's life is more complex and compelling than most people realize. Her unconventional childhood caused her to rethink society's assumptions about the roles of women and men. This spark lit a fire in her that burned for decades as she became a leading voice in the women's movement.
Vote! : women's fight for access to the ballot box by
Call Number: YA 324.623 FRA
August 18, 2020, marked the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution, which granted women the right to vote. Learn how the 70-year-long fight for women's suffrage was hard won by leaders like Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Alice Paul, and Carrie Chapman Catt. Their success led into the civil rights and feminist movements of the mid- and late twentieth century, as well as today's #MeToo, #YesAllWomen, and Black Lives Matter movements.
The Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the World by
Call Number: YA 324.623 ROB
Do you have a cause you're passionate about? Take a few tips from the suffragists, who led one of the largest and longest movements in American history! The women's suffrage movement was decades in the making and came with many harsh setbacks. But it resulted in a permanent victory: women's right to vote. How did the suffragists do it? One hundred years later, an eye-opening look at their playbook shows that some of their strategies seem oddly familiar, and provides inspiration for activists-in-the-making today.
Jane Against the World by
Call Number: YA 342.73 BLU
From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, Jane Against the World is deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States.
Can Your Conversations Change the World? by
Call Number: YA 305.42 PAI
Being a feminist can mean different things to different people, but one thing it always includes is the belief in equality and human rights. Whether you are talking with one close friend or hanging out with a group of classmates, it matters what you say and how you say it. Not everyone is going to agree with your opinions, especially when you are talking about social justice issues. This book provides insight into the origins and history of feminism, how it plays out on the global stage and what it means to be a young feminist and activist today.
Feminism : reinventing the F-word by
Call Number: YA 305.42 HIG
While most people say they believe in equal rights, the word feminism--America's new F-word--makes people uncomfortable. Explore the history of US feminism through pioneers such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Betty Friedan, Shirley Chisholm, and Gloria Steinem. Meet modern leaders such as Rebecca Walker and Julie Zeilinger, who are striving to empower women at work, in government, at home--and in cultural and personal arenas. Learn from interviews with movement leaders, scholars, pop stars, and average women, what it means to be a feminist--or to reject it altogether. After reading this book, readers will be able to respond to "Am I a feminist?" with a confident, informed voice.
Girls Resist! by
Call Number: YA 320.082 RIC
A smart, contemporary, stylish, and practical handbook for aspiring teen girl activists who are mad as hell about the way the world is going and aren't gonna take it anymore! Chapters cover standard topics like picking a cause, fundraising, networking, and protesting, but devote plenty of space to teen-specific topics and how-tos like having tough talks with unsupportive family members, lobbying and campaigning for representatives when you're too young to vote, and best practices for being effective (and safe!) while raising awareness on social media.
Here We Are : feminism for the real world by
Call Number: YA 305.42 HER
A scrapbook-style teen guide to understanding what it really means to be a feminist packed with contributions from a diverse range of voices, including celebrities and public figures, and featuring more than forty-four art pieces, including an eight-page insert of full-color illustrations.
I Am a Feminist : claiming the F-word in turbulent times by
Call Number: YA 305.42 POL
What is feminism? Why does it still matter? What exactly does intersectionality mean? In order to answer these (and many other) questions, this illuminating book examines the history of feminism and addresses the issues girls and women continue to face today. It also looks at the ways in which young people are working together to create a world where gender equality is a reality, not a dream, and shares stories about the courageous individuals who have made a difference in the lives of women and girls worldwide.
Unladylike : a field guide to smashing the patriarchy and claiming your space by
Call Number: YA 305.42 CON
This fully intersectional, fully unapologetic, and fully radical field guide examines what happens when women break the rules, why and how the patriarchy is alive and well, and how fierce modern women can smash it. Funny, fact-driven, and full of wisdom from her story, Unladylike is a feminist life guide for the modern era, examining the issues women of all ages and backgrounds deal with on a daily basis and offering kickass advice for how to deal with it all, from dating, sex, and friendship to rape culture, the wage gap, and intersectionality.
"Nice" Jewish Girls by
Call Number: YA 92 MERBERG, J.
Thirty-six mini biographies of groundbreaking, outspoken, odds-defying Jewish women explore their fascinating lives, as well as the ways in which they were shaped by their heritage.
Bad Girls of Fashion by
Call Number: YA 391.209 CRO
Bad Girls of Fashion explores the lives of ten famous women who have used clothing to make a statement, change perceptions, break rules, attract power, or express their individuality. Croll demonstrates how through the ages, women--often without other means of power--have used fashion as a tool, and how their influence continues to shape how women present themselves today.
Brazen : rebel ladies who rocked the world by
Call Number: YA 920.72 BAG
Throughout history and across the globe, one characteristic connects the daring women of Brazen: their indomitable spirit. With her characteristic wit and dazzling drawings, celebrated graphic novelist Penelope Bagieu profiles the lives of these feisty female role models, some world famous, some little known. From Nellie Bly to Mae Jemison or Josephine Baker to Naziq al-Abid, the stories in this comic biography are sure to inspire the next generation of rebel ladies!
Code Name Badass : the true story of Virginia Hall by
Call Number: YA 92 GOILLOT, V.
To say Virginia "Dindy" Hall was ambitious would be an understatement. She was that girl at your high school who makes everyone else look like a slacker, no matter how hard they're working. But how many of them can say they've been on Nazi Germany's Most Wanted list? At a time when most women were expected to becomes wives and mothers, Virginia craved adventure. And with the world gearing up for a second World War, this fearless woman knew that she had to find a way to get involved. Soon Virginia became an essential part of the Allied mission and the French Resistance, earning the dangerous honor of being named "the most dangerous of all Allied spies" by the Gestapo. This is a smart and spirited celebration of Virginia Hall, a woman with audacious courage and kickass spy skills!
Dissenter on the Bench : Ruth Bader Ginsburg's life and work by
Call Number: YA 92 GINSBURG, R.
The life and career of the fiercely principled Supreme Court Justice, now a popular icon, with dramatic accounts of her landmark cases that moved the needle on legal protection of human rights. The cases described, many involving young people, demonstrate her passionate concern for gender equality, fairness, and our constitutional rights.
History vs Women: the Defiant Lives That They Don't Want You to Know by
Call Number: YA 305.42 SAR
Rebels, rulers, scientists, artists, warriors and villains - women are, and have always been, all these things and more! Looking through the ages and across the globe, discover the stories of twenty-five remarkable women who dared to defy history and change the world around them. From Mongolian wrestlers to Chinese pirates, Native American ballerinas to Egyptian scientists, Japanese novelists to British Prime Ministers,History vs Women will reframe the history that you thought you knew.
Laverne Cox by
Call Number: YA 92 COX, L.
In 2013, Orange Is the New Black began captivating audiences with its cast of female characters representing diverse strata of society. Perhaps no star on the show has inspired as much as Laverne Cox, who plays the black transgender inmate Sophia Burset. Cox's work, both as an actor and off-screen, has brought attention to the risks faced by vulnerable populations, particularly racial minority transgender individuals. This biography documents Cox's triumphant life and work as an activist, documenting her own growth from troubling times she recalls as a teenager to becoming the first openly transgender actor nominated for an Emmy.
A Pirate's Life for She : swashbuckling women through the ages by
Call Number: YA 910.45 DUN
. In this Seven Seas history of the world's female buccaneers, A Pirate's Life for She tells the story of 16 women who through the ages who sailed alongside--and sometimes in command of--their male counterparts. These women came from all walks of life but had one thing in common: a desire for freedom. History has largely ignored these female swashbucklers...until now.
Sarah Bernhardt : the divine and dazzling life of the world's first superstar by
Call Number: YA 92 BERNHARDT, S.
A tantalizing biography for teens on Sarah Bernhardt, the first international celebrity and one of the greatest actors of all time, who lived a highly unconventional, utterly fascinating life. Illustrated with more than sixty-five photos of Bernhardt on stage, in film, and in real life.
The Woman All Spies Fear : code breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and her hidden life by
Call Number: YA 92 FRIEDMAN, E.
Elizebeth Smith Friedman had a rare talent for spotting patterns and solving puzzles. These skills led her to become one of the top cryptanalysts in America during both World War I and World War II. She originally came to code breaking through her love for Shakespeare when she was hired by an eccentric millionaire to prove that Shakespeare's plays had secret messages in them. Within a year, she had learned so much about code breaking that she was a star in the making. She went on to play a major role decoding messages during WWI and WWII and also for the Coast Guard's war against smugglers. Elizebeth and her husband, William, became the top code-breaking team in the US, and she did it all at a time when most women weren't welcome in the workforce.
Encyclopedia Lumberjanica: an Illustrated Guide to the World of Lumberjanes by
Call Number: YA 920.72 ENC
This illustrated digest will detail the lives of the lady-types that the Lumberjanes have taken as their role models, with some additional fun facts from the Lumberjanes themselves. Assigned one of five categories (The Arts; The Sciences; Activism, Politics, and Social Work; Groundbreakers; and Generally Rad), you'll learn about such people as Juliette Gordon Low, Bell Hooks, Bessie Coleman, Sally Ride, and more!
Girls Who Run the World: 31 CEOs Who Mean Business by
Call Number: YA 338.092 KAP
Part biography, part business how-to, and fully empowering, this book shows that y ou're never too young to dream BIG! With colorful portraits, fun interviews and DIY tips, Girls Who Run the World features the success stories of 31 leading ladies today of companies like Rent the Runway, PopSugar, and Soul Cycle.
Food Stars : 15 women stirring up the food industry by
Call Number: YA 641.3 MAH
Food is a great unifying force on Earth. Not only do humans need food to survive, it also gives structure to our days, offers dining and recreational opportunities, provides employment, and speaks to important societal issues such as food security, hunger, and nutrition. Women and food make a dynamic duo. These 15 hardworking, innovative, and accomplished women have made great strides in the field of food, whether it's coming up with meals for astronauts to eat in space, operating a 20-acre farm, hosting a food podcast, or fighting for food rights. Women have always been instrumental in providing nourishment for their families and communities, and they are often at the forefront of this ever-changing global industry. These 15 women are stellar in their food industry roles as farmers, chefs, food activists, food storytellers, and food scientists.
Wonderful Women of the World by
Call Number: YA 920.72 AND
Wonder Woman has been an inspiration for decades, and while not everyone would choose her star-spangled outfit for themselves, her compassion and fairness are worthy of emulation. This book presents tales of the real-world heroes who take up Diana's mantle and work in the fields of science, sports, activism, diplomacy, and more in this anthology of contemporary Wonder Women, and how they've changed our world!
As Fast As Her : dream big, break barriers, achieve success by
Call Number: YA 92 COYNE, K.
The world told Kendall Coyne to slow down. They said "not so fast" when she picked up hockey skates instead of figure skates. They said "just a minute" when she tried out for the boy's team. They told her "you're not enough" so often that she started to believe it. But Kendall had a passion and a dream, so instead of slowing down, she sped up, going on to win Olympic gold and become a US hockey star! This book explores how Kendall held on to her dream, overcame her insecurities, defied her naysayers, and pushed herself past barriers to achieve her goals.
Black Ballerinas : my journey to our legacy by
Call Number: YA 92 COPELAND, M.
From award-winning author and American Ballet Theatre principal dancer Misty Copeland comes this illustrated nonfiction collection celebrating dancers of color who have influenced her on and off the stage, and whose lives and careers fundamentally changed the landscape of American ballet from the early 20th century to today.
Breakaway : beyond the goal by
Call Number: YA 92 MORGAN, A.
As a talented and successful female athlete, Alex Morgan is a role model to thousands of girls who want to be their best, not just in soccer, but in life. The story of her path to success--from playing in the 2011 Women's World Cup, to winning gold in the 2012 London Olympics, to ranking as one of the National Team's top scorers--will inspire everyone who reads it. From her beginnings with the American Youth Soccer Organization to the role she played in winning the 2015 Women's World Cup, Alex shares the details that made her who she is today: a fantastic role model and athlete who proudly rocks a pink headband.
Fierce : how competing for myself changed everything by
Call Number: YA 92 RAISMAN, A.
Aly Raisman's skills as a gymnast have taken her to two Olympics (so far), and her charm and can-do attitude have made her a media darling and an inspiration to young girls everywhere. Not one to rest on her laurels (or rest at all!), Aly is excited to share her story and the wisdom she has gained on her path to success. She offers readers an empowering message through her story, one that she learned the hard way: that knowing what you're capable of and having the faith in yourself to doubt the doubters is key.
One Life by
Call Number: YA 92 RAPINOE, M.
Join Olympic gold medalist, two-time Women's World Cup champion, and trailblazing activist Megan Rapinoe in the fight for equality and justice in this middle grade adaptation of her New York Times bestselling memoir, One Life.
On Top of Glass : stories of a queer girl in figure skating by
Call Number: YA 92 MANTA, K.
Karina Manta has had a busy few years: Not only did she capture the hearts of many with her fan-favorite performance at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships, she also became the first female figure skater on Team USA to come out as queer. But this isn't just a story about her queerness. It's also a story about her struggle with body image in a sport that prizes delicate femininity. It's a story about panic attacks, and first crushes, and all the crushes that followed, and it's a story about growing up, feeling different than everybody around her and then realizing that everyone else felt different too.
Thrill Seekers : 15 remarkable women in extreme sports by
Call Number: YA 796.092 MCC
What is the allure of the extreme? Who are the women who seek out and excel at sports outside the conventional, such as cave diving, wingsuit flying, or Formula 1 racing? This collection of female adventure dynamos is as fascinating as it is empowering. Thrill Seekers introduces readers to a diverse and fascinating selection of women whose determination, grit, and courage have propelled each of them into a life far from the sidelines. The women featured in this book are role models and leaders, change-makers who opted into a life of risk - but also one of astonishing rewards!
Wolfpack : how young people will find their voice, unite their pack, and change the world by
Call Number: YA 155.333 WAM
Abby Wambach became a champion because of her incredible talent as a soccer player. She became an icon because of her remarkable wisdom as a leader. As the co-captain of the 2015 Women's World Cup Champion Team, she created a culture not just of excellence, but of honor, commitment, resilience, and sisterhood. She helped transform a group of individual women into one of the most successful, powerful, and united Wolfpacks of all time. Now, Abby is ready to do the same for her new team: All Women Everywhere. Abby's message to women is: We have never been Little Red Riding Hood. We Are the Wolves. We must wander off the path and blaze a new one: together. The two-time Olympic gold medalist presents an empowering message for women to unleash their power, build teams, and positively change the world.
Inaugural Ballers : the true story of the first US Women's Olympic basketball team by
Call Number: YA 796.323 MAR
Twenty years before women's soccer became an Olympic sport and two decades before the formation of the WNBA, the '76 US women's basketball team laid the foundation for the incredible rise of women's sports in America at the youth, collegiate, Olympic, and professional levels. Though they were unknowns from small schools such as Delta State, the University of Tennessee at Martin, and John F. Kennedy College of Wahoo, Nebraska, at the time of the '76 Olympics, the American team included a roster of players who would go on to become some of the most legendary figures in the history of basketball. From Pat Head, Nancy Lieberman, Ann Meyers, Lusia Harris, coach Billie Moore, and beyond - these women took on the world and proved everyone wrong.
Augusta Savage : the shape of a sculptor's life by
Call Number: YA 92 SAVAGE, A.
Augusta Savage was arguably the most influential American artist of the 1930s. A gifted sculptor, Savage was commissioned to create a portrait bust of W.E.B. Du Bois for the New York Public Library. She flourished during the Harlem Renaissance, and became a teacher to an entire generation of African American artists, including Jacob Lawrence, and would go on to be nationally recognized as one of the featured artists at the 1939 World's Fair. She was the first-ever recorded Black gallerist. After being denied an artists' fellowship abroad on the basis of race, Augusta Savage worked to advance equal rights in the arts. And yet popular history has forgotten her name. Deftly written and brimming with photographs of Savage's stunning sculpture, this is an important portrait of an exceptional artists who, despite the limitations she faced, was compelled to forge a life through art and creativity.
Close-Up on War : the story of pioneering photojournalist Catherine Leroy in Vietnam by
Call Number: YA 92 LEROY, C.
Close-Up on War tells the story of French-born Catherine Leroy, one of the Vietnam War's few woman photographers, who documented some of the fiercest fighting in the 20-year conflict. Despite being told that women didn't belong in a "man's world," she was cool under fire, gravitated toward the thickest battles, went along on the soldiers' slogs through the heat and mud of the jungle, crawled through rice paddies, and became the only official photojournalist to parachute into combat with American soldiers. Later, Leroy was gravely wounded from shrapnel, but that didn't keep her down more than a month. When captured by the North Vietnamese in 1968, she talked herself free after photographing her captors, scoring a cover story in Life magazine. A recipient of the George Polk Award, one of the most prestigious awards in journalism, Leroy was one of the most well-known photographers in the world during her time.
Evelyn Hooker and the Fairy Project by
Call Number: YA 92 HOOKER, E.
This evocative biography, written in verse coupled with sidebars and historical photographs, tells the story of Evelyn Hooker, the extraordinary woman behind the research, advocacy, and allyship that led to the removal of the "Homosexuality" diagnosis from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. A pioneering psychologist, Hooker was also a poet herself and a towering figure in LGBTQ+ rights. At the end of the book, a "Note to Readers" provides information about how to be an effective ally to LGBTQ+ people, people of color, people with disabilities, or anyone who's part of a marginalized community.
Florence Nightingale : the courageous life of the legendary nurse by
Call Number: YA 92 NIGHTINGALE, F.
Most people know Florence Nightingale was a compassionate and legendary nurse, but they don't know her full story. This riveting biography explores the exceptional life of a woman who defied the stifling conventions of Victorian society to pursue what was considered an undesirable vocation. She is best known for her work during the Crimean War, when she vastly improved gruesome and deadly conditions and made nightly rounds to visit patients, becoming known around the world as the Lady with the Lamp. Her tireless and inspiring work continued after the war, and her modern methods in nursing became the defining standards still used today!
Girls Garage : how to use any tool, tackle any project and build the world you want to see by
Call Number: YA 621.9 PIL
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Not sure which screws to buy? Need to fix a running toilet? With Girls Garage, you'll have the expertise to tackle these problems with your own hands. Or maybe you want to get creative and build something totally new. A birdhouse? A bookshelf? Girls Garage has you covered. Packed with over 175 illustrated tool guides, 11 how-to projects, 21 essential skills, and 15 inspiring stories from real-world builder girls and women, Girls Garage will inspire you to fill up your toolbox and get building!
Marie Curie : a life of discovery by
Call Number: YA 92 CURIE, M.
In her intensely researched, inventively drawn graphic novel exploration of Marie Curie's life, artist Alice Milani follows the celebrated Polish scientist from Curie's time as a struggling governess to her years in France making breakthrough discoveries. Curie was the first woman to win a Nobel Prize and the only person to win a Nobel Prize in two different sciences. With skill and care, Milani traces Curie's flight from Russia-controlled Poland, her romance with fellow scientist Pierre Curie, and Marie and Pierre's stunning discoveries of the elements radium and polonium. Throughout this distinctive graphic novel, Curie defies doubt and double standards to make an enduring impact on the scientific world.
Science Superstars : 30 brilliant women who changed the world by
Call Number: YA 509.252 CAL
Women scientists aren't new, but they haven't always gotten credit for being so stellar. Meet 30 remarkable women whose passion and dedication to all things science led to groundbreaking discoveries, vital medicine, essential technology, and cutting-edge inventions that changed the world. If you use GPS or Wi-Fi, you have Hedy Lamarr to thank for that. If you are fascinated by space travel, look no further than Katherine Johnson, Mary Jackson, Stephanie Kwolek, Sally Ride, and Mae Jemison. And if you're spellbound by advances in medicine, the work of Elizabeth Blackwell, Elizabeth Garrett Anderson, Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, and others is indispensable to the world we know today.
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by
Call Number: FIC (YA VL) PADUA, S.
Meet Victorian London's most dynamic duo: Charles Babbage, the unrealized inventor of the computer, and his accomplice, Ada, Countess of Lovelace, the peculiar protoprogrammer and daughter of Lord Byron. When Lovelace translated a description of Babbage's plans for an enormous mechanical calculating machine in 1842, she added annotations three times longer than the original work. Her footnotes contained the first appearance of the general computing theory, a hundred years before an actual computer was built. Sadly, Lovelace died of cancer a decade after publishing the paper, and Babbage never built any of his machines. But do not despair! The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage presents a rollicking alternate reality in which Lovelace and Babbage do...
Women Discoverers : top women in science by
Call Number: YA 509.252 MOI
From Ada Lovelace (computing) to Marie Curie (Physics and Chemistry), these exceptional women enabled the world to advance in all fields of science including space exploration (Mae Jemison), telecommunications (the actress also genius discoverer Hedy Lamarr), and Biology (Rosalind Franklin). An inspiration going counter to preconceived notions about women and science, presenting a diverse group from around the world.
Blackpink : K-pop's no.1 girl group by
Call Number: YA 920 BOS
Meet Blackpink--the sassiest, most stylish girls around. This is your comprehensive guid to the K-pop girl group taking the world by storm. Get to know Jisoo, Jennie, Rose, and Lisa, the four mega-talented ladies who sing, dance and rap, and look fierce doing it--it's no wonder they're the hottest thing in pop right now. Learn all about their trainee days, their debut and their ongoing quest for global domination, as well as their own individual stories and personalities, in this indispensable guide for any Blackpink fan!
Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648