Skip to main content

Online Research Databases: Help Accessing Databases

Huntington Beach Public Library members have free access to a wealth of subscription databases containing a wide range of information from respected authors and journals.

Troubleshooting

What’s the problem? 
If the error message is about your Library card number or PIN, call Circulation Services at 714-842-4481. If your card number and PIN are accepted, but the database asks you for another username and password, see our troubleshooting section below.

section divider

Pop-up Blockers

Our remote database site uses pop-up windows, and if you are using utility software that blocks such windows, these functions will not work. Please temporarily disable such software while accessing our databases.

To turn off Internet Explorer pop-up blocker:

Click on Tools, Pop-Up Blocker, Turn Off pop-up blocker

If you don't want to turn off Internet Explorer's pop-up blocker, you may try adding website exceptions to pop-up blocker:

*.heritagequestonline.com
*.umi.com
persi.heritagequestonline.com
rpa.hbpl.org
rpa.hbpl.org/rpa/webauth.exe
rpa.hbpl.org/rpa/default/newlinks.htm

Click on Tools, Pop-Up Blocker, Pop-up blocker settings, type in the list of sites above and click Add after each one.

If turning off your pop-up blocker doesn't work, try adding the list of sites to your trusted sites in Internet Explorer.

Click on Tools, Internet Options, Security Tab, Trusted Sites icon (green checkmark circle 3rd one across)
Click on Sites.. button and type in the list of sites above and click Add button after each one.
Uncheck the box that says "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone.

If turning off the pop-up blocker and adding the trusted sites doesn't work you should try adding the list of above sites to the firewall exceptions or turn off/disable your firewall while accessing the databases. 

section divider

Firewalls

Some Firewall settings can secure your computer so well that certain features of our databases will not work. If you experience problems, try configuring your firewall to allow you to verify blocking manually, then permit access from our web site as you access these features. 

Other programs that may cause the message of authentication failed for Heritage Quest would be Zone Alarm Firewall, Google Web Accelerator, and other Firewall programs. Temporarily exit out of these programs by right-clicking on the program icon located next to the time in the lower right hand corner of the screen. When you are finished using the databases, you can resume using those protective utilities.

Instructions to disable Norton Internet Security

Locate the Norton Internet Security icon in the system tray located next to the time clock in the lower right corner of your screen. This is also how you can disable it temporarily. You may need to disable it temporarily to discover if it is a source of your problem.

To disable it:

Right click on the icon 
Choose Disable from the menu 
Choose 30 minutes or however long you need to use Heritage Quest. 
Go back to www.hbpl.org and access Heritage Quest again

Help With Specific Databases

Accessing Databases At Home

Even if you aren't at the library you can take advantage of the great information that our databases provide.  Logging on is simple.


1. Go to our Online Research Databases guide or choose "Research Databases" under "Books, Computers, Research" from the side menu on our homepage (www.hbpl.org).

2. Select the "Login from Home" link or click the image below.

3. Enter your library card number and PIN (last four digits of your phone number) into the boxes and click "Login".

4. Choose your database from the list of options on the left side of your screen.  The database will open up in a new window and you can use it as you normally would within the library.

Not all of our databases are listed in the "Login from Home" menu because many of them request your library card number for access even if you are using them within the library.  To save an extra step, all databases that require home authentication will have a  icon next to them.  The icon also links to the "Login from Home" menu.

If you have any questions, contact the library at (714) 842-4481.

 


Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone 714-842-4481