Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kids' Stuff: Homework Help

Welcome to the Huntington Beach Children's Library

Homework Help

Quick Links

School Reading Programs

Homework Resources

Brainfuse HelpNow 

Interact with live tutors, receive real-time help with specific subjects, submit essays and other forms of writing for constructive feedback, and submit homework questions for expert guidance. Also access foreign language learning resources, practice worksheets, online flashcards, and much more. Brainfuse is HBPL's most comprehensive homework assistance resource. 

Please use your library card number to login


ProQuest SIRS Discoverer

Specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators, ProQuest SIRS Discoverer includes articles and information on subjects including history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. A built-in citation generator will help you cite your sources for papers and classwork. 
Please use your library card number to login


ProQuest eLibrary

This user-friendly reference tool for middle grade students boasts one of the largest collections of periodicals and digital media content for young researchers on a variety of subjects including language arts, history, math, science, social studies, political science, art, sports, health, & the performing arts. A built-in citation generator will help you cite your sources for papers and classwork. 
Please use your library card number to login


ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher

Writing a report on the pros or cons of a particular issue?  ProQuest has you covered with this database of pro/con articles that provides up-to-date information to help middle grade researchers examine a topic from all angles. A built-in citation generator will help you cite your sources for papers and classwork.

Please use your library card number to login


Britannica School - Elementary

A age-appropriate and up-to-date information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards. Easily switch between reading levels to help students of any age with their research needs. Access generously provided by the CA State Library.


Khan Academy

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace. Here, you can tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more. Khan Academy focuses on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations.

Funbrain: Math Zone

Created for kids in grades Pre-K through 8, Funbrain.com has been a great resource for free educational games for kids since 1997. Funbrain offers hundreds of games, books, comics, and videos that develop skills in math, reading, problem-solving and literacy. The Math Zone focuses on math-related concepts, in particular, to help build your child's math skills.


Math Game Time

Math Game Time is your destination for math games and homework help online. The goal of this site is to provide a fun, educational playground for students in Pre-K through 7th grade to excel in math. You'll find free math games, worksheets and how-to videos for common math problems.


Math Playground

Math Playground includes a wide variety of math topics, from problem solving and mathematical art to real world math and thinking games. Here, you'll find games to practice math skills, instructional videos for solving specific math problems, and logic games to work on word problem skills. 


Zearn Math

Zearn Math is a K–5 math program that makes math engaging and accessible for all learners. After you create a free family account, you have access to over 400 hours of digital lessons with on-screen teachers and paper-based lesson materials for every objective of K–5 math. Parents and educators can create free family accounts, add their children, and track their progress as they move through grade-level courses, which incorporate games and interactive problem-solving tasks tied to curriculum.


Kendall Hunt Family Math Refresher Videos

Publishing company Kendall Hunt has created a video series covering common math skills like adding and subtracting fractions, ratios, exponents, percents, and more. Videos walk you through how to use these math skills step-by-step, giving your kiddos the skills and understanding to solve these common math problems themselves or giving parents the background knowledge to assist with more complex problems.

PBS NOVA

NOVA provides in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world. For students, NOVA also has an extensive list of resources and original content—including short-form videos and science and education blogs.


National Geographic Resource Library

Access scientific encyclopedia entries, articles, activities, multimedia, and more. Plus, you can narrow your search by subject, grade level, and the type of resources you want to find, as well as search for specific science topics. From the National Geographic website, you can also access Learn Anywhere Resources on a variety of topics and for a wide range of grade levels.


National Geographic Kids

In this highly image-based site from National Geographic, kids can explore articles, projects, and multimedia on a variety of different science-based topics, including animals, geography, space, and more. Games and videos help boost information retention and make the content interesting for exploration.


California Academy of Sciences

Search the database of the CA Academy of Sciences to find lesson plans, videos & films, live online programs, and resource collections on a variety of science-based topics. Narrow your search results by grade level, language, subject, and type to help make your homework search that much easier.


 

ReadWriteThink
Looking for engaging ways to introduce your child to reading or to encourage your teen to write? Need some age-appropriate book suggestions or rainy day activities? The materials on ReadWriteThink are your answer—all of them created by experts to be fun, educational, and easy to use outside of school. Find resources grouped by grade, with activities & projects, games & tools, tips & how-tos, and more.


 

ProQuest CultureGrams
Explore the world with cultural information on more than 200 countries, research our fifty nifty U.S. states, or get a kids' eye view on daily life around the world in this collection of cultural resources for grades 3 - 12. A built-in citation generator will help you cite your sources for papers and classwork.

Please use your library card number to login


Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Learning Lab was created to inspire the discovery and creative use of this famous museum's digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts. It is easy to find something of interest because search results display pictures rather than lists. Students can add their own notes and tags, ask discussion questions, save their collections, and share with others. You can also look through other collections of images and objects from students, teachers, and museum staff.


 

Social Media

Follow us on social media!

           


Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone 714-842-4481