Skip to main content

Kids' Stuff: Children's Home Page

Welcome to the Huntington Beach Children's Library

School Reading Programs

Newsworthy

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

The concept is simple, the rewards are priceless. The goal is to have read 1,000 books before your precious one starts kindergarten. When your child reaches a milestone, the Huntington Beach Public Library is here to help celebrate. We have rewards like stickers, pencils, and other small trinkets to celebrate every 100 books your child achieves.

Sign up for 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten by going to Beanstack. 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten is for ages birth - 5; if your child is 6+ years old, you may register him/her for the Read 20 Minutes a Day program.

Join Us

Stuffed Animal Sleepover 2019

The 2019 Stuffed Animal Sleepover was held on Tuesday, August 27! Miss the video?? Check it out on the library's YouTube page! You can see all of the fun shenanigans our library guests got up to while they were here.

Storytime@home

Storytime@home documents include links to library eBooks and YouTube videos with themed songs and stories. Read, sing, and play together to create your own mini-storytime!

We know you are probably missing storytime just as much as we are while the library is closed, so HBPL children's staff have gathered up some resources to keep the learning going!

Check back on this page often to find new Storytime@home plans that support your child's early learning. 

Preschool/Toddler Storytimes


       

 

Craft Storytimes


 

 

Bilingual Spanish/English Storytimes


     

Digital Storytime

COVID-19

According to guidance from the City of Huntington Beach, the Orange County Health Care Agency, and the CDC: 
  • All library programs, including storytimes, homework help, and the makerspace, will be suspended.
  • Volunteers are instructed not to report for duty.
  • Please refrain from donating books and materials.
  • All library locations are closed to the public until further notice.
  • Library materials (books, DVDs, audioboks, etc.) may not be returned at any location at this time.
  • Fines and fees related to overdue items have been suspended until further notice. 
All Huntington Beach library branches are closed at this time.
 
We will continue to monitor the situation and keep you updated on any developments. The safety of our patrons, staff, and community is our top priority. We encourage you to visit HBReady.com for current information from the city.  
 
Please take care of yourselves and stay healthy!

Children's Digital Resources

   

   

How can I access these databases from home?
Follow these three easy steps:
1. Click the image below.
2. Enter your library card number and PIN (last four digits of your phone number) into the boxes, and click "Login". 
3. Choose your database from the list of options on the left side of your screen.  The database will open up in a new window and you can use it as you normally would within the library.



Note: ‚ÄčNot all of our databases are listed in the "Login from Home" menu because many of them request your library card number for access even if you are using them within the library. Of our Children's digital resources, only Explora and Novelist require you to login to Remote Access first!

section divider

What are research databases?
Research databases are electronic resources that contain an organized body of related information from a wide range of well-known, authoritative sources. Although they are distributed via the Web, traditional search engines such as Google or Yahoo cannot easily retrieve the content (magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, television and radio broadcast transcripts, maps, photographs, pamphlets, etc.) in these resources. The scope of coverage varies—some databases such as EbscoHost are very broad, others such as Heritage Quest are more specialized.

section divider

What is the difference between using a database and doing a search on Google?
The information in databases has been reviewed and edited and comes from reliable, authoritative sources. Google returns results from public websites. Although there is an enormous volume of information on the Web, no oversight exists to guarantee the information retrieved is accurate, objective, and current.

section divider

Is there any charge for using them?
No. The Library has purchased subscriptions to these databases, so they can be provided free of charge to our patrons. Anyone can use them for free in the library and Library cardholders can also access the majority of the databases from home.

           


Huntington Beach Public Library
7111 Talbert Ave. Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone 714-842-4481