Some databases are marked with a symbol.
If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Click Here for Remote Access" link below. For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.
Don't have a library card yet?
Email firstname.lastname@example.org to get started.
The California State Library is pleased to offer the New York Times online for California Public Libraries. This link features direct access to world class journalism from 1851 to right now, including all articles, multimedia, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese translations, mobile apps and much more. For access outside of the library's premises, please click on the lock symbol underneath the logo.
This huge collection of steamy Romance novels is available with unlimited and unrestricted access - no downloads limits, no holds, no waiting in line! Whether you like contemporary, historical, time travel, paranormal, or inspirational Romances, you will love to read about love with RomanceBookCloud! With a core collection of 1800 titles, including award winners and bestsellers, plus new books added all the time, you will never run out of great romances to read!
The experts at The Princeton Review have been helping students, parents, and educators achieve the best results at every stage of the education process since 1981. The Princeton Review has helped millions succeed on standardized tests, and also provides expert advice and instruction to help parents, teachers, students, and schools navigate the complexities of school admissions.
Free eBooks from Enki Library
During COVID-19 closures, enjoy access to fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, travel guides, study guides and more in eBook format for free from Enki Library. All you need is your library card!
Get help from live tutors 1-10 PM Monday through Sunday. Tutors will help with homework, resumes, writing, Microsoft Office, and more. You can also access test prep, virtual meeting spaces, and videos any time.
Presents information on authors and literature, including biographies, book reviews, book overviews, literary criticism, primary sources, and literary works.
Selected reference and encyclopedias are available including: Novels for Students, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of Religion and more! To access the Gale Online ebooks use your library card number for the password
Browse and search complete issues of Consumer Reports magazines and articles for reviews and recommendations before you make a purchase. (See "How Do I Access Consumer Reports from Home?")
Explore easy-to-understand encyclopedia articles, as well as links to related websites and magazine articles. An atlas is also included. Entries incorporate sounds, pictures, videos, and animations to make the information come alive. This resource is great for students of all ages.
Full-text biographical articles from Salem Press reference books; Great Lives from History and The 1980s in America.
What are research databases?
Research databases are electronic resources that contain an organized body of related information from a wide range of well-known, authoritative sources. Although they are distributed via the Web, traditional search engines such as Google or Yahoo cannot easily retrieve the content (magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, television and radio broadcast transcripts, maps, photographs, pamphlets, etc.) in these resources. The scope of coverage varies—some databases such as EbscoHost are very broad, others such as Heritage Quest are more specialized.
What is the difference between using a database and doing a search on Google?
The information in databases has been reviewed and edited and comes from reliable, authoritative sources. Google returns results from public websites. Although there is an enormous volume of information on the Web, no oversight exists to guarantee the information retrieved is accurate, objective, and current.
Is there any charge for using them?
No. The Library has purchased subscriptions to these databases, so they can be provided free of charge to our patrons. Anyone can use them for free in the library and Library cardholders can also access the majority of the databases from home.