HBPL Digital Resources Library: Downloadable Books, Movies, and Music

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a library computer:
   1. Click the "Alexander Street (ProQuest Performing Arts Audio Collections)" link (see above) on this site
2. If accessing from a personal computer:
   1. Click the green house icon next to the resource 
   2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
   3. Click the "Alexander Street" link on the provided list of resources

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a library computer:
   1. Click the "Alexander Street (ProQuest Performing Arts Video Collections)" link (see above) on this site
2. If accessing from a personal computer:
   1. Click the green house icon next to the resource 
   2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
   3. Click the "Alexander Street" link on the provided list of resources

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If using a computer ANYWHERE in California:
   1. Use the library's unique link (see above)
2. If using an iPhone or Android device with an Huntington Beach Public Library card
   1. Install the SimplyE app your mobile device:
      1. SimplyE app in iOS App Store
      2. SimplyE app in Google Play Store
   2. Open SimplyE.
   3. Tap "Find You Library" (note: it may take a moment for the list to appear).
   4. Scroll until you see "California State Library" and tap on it.
   5. Browse the various collections and locate your desired title.
   6. To borrow a title, tap the "Get" button and 
      1. Enter a library barcode and PIN number from your Huntington Beach Public Library card
   7. To read your borrowed title, tap the "Books" icon on the bottom of the screen and tap the "Read" button.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a personal computer:
   1. Use the library's link (see above) to access Hoopla
   2. Click the blue "Get Started" button to begin setting up your free account
   3. In the following pop-up pages, please do the following:
      1. Select "Huntington Beach Public Library (CA)" in Find Your Library
      2. Input your library card number and PIN in Connect With Your Library
      3. Input your email and create a password in Almost Done
   4. Click the "Login" button (in the upper right-hand corner) and input your credentials 
2. If accessing from a smartphone or tablet:
   1. Download the appropriate app:
      1. Google/Android
      2. Apple
      3. Amazon/Kindle
   2. Follow the steps above to set up your free account

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a personal computer:
   1. Use the library's link (see above) to access Kanopy
      1. On the home page, click the orange "Add Library Card" button
      2. Input your library card number and PIN
      3. Once you create your free account, click the "Log In" button in the upper left-hand corner.
2. If accessing from a smartphone or tablet:
   1. Download the appropriate app:
      1. Google/Android
      2. Apple
      3. Amazon/Kindle
   2. Follow the steps above to set up your free account
3. If accessing from a smart tv or streaming device, check the following links for information on adding Kanopy to your television:
   1. Chromecast
   2. Roku
   3. Samsung TV

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE  

• Mobile app:  iOS & Android:  Find Libby by Overdrive in your App store (iOS) or in Google Play (Android).  View Libby mobile apps here.
• Desktop/laptop computer/Fire tablet:  Visit the Libby website here.
• For all devices:  Follow the prompts to enter your library barcode number and library account PIN.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a smartphone or tablet:
   1. Download the appropriate app:
      1. Google/Android
      2. Apple iOS
   2. Follow the prompts to select your library and input your library card number and PIN

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

1. If accessing from a library computer:
   1. Click the "ProQuest Ebook Central" link (see above) on this site
2. If accessing from a personal computer:
   1. Click the green house icon next to the resource 
   2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
   3. Click the "ProQuest Ebook Central" link on the provided list of resources

Alexander Street Audio Collections

Alexander Street Video Collections

Enki California Digital Library

Hoopla Digital

Kanopy

Libby by Overdrive

Palace Project

ProQuest Ebook Central

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a  symbol.  

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Access from Home" link below.  For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

Home users login here first.