Guides: HBPL Digital Resources Library: Reading Resources

Enki California Digital Library

Enki California Digital Library
A geolocated, curated collection available to anyone physically located in the state of California! In response to COVID-19 and library closures, Califa, in partnership with Bibliolabs, has made a digital library available to every person in California - no library card required. This collection uses geolocation to provide access to anyone physically located in the state of California. The library includes several thousand simultaneous use ebooks from leading publishers as well as the Indie Author Project Select collection, which features over 400 award-winning indie-published ebooks, some of which are right here in California!

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If using a computer ANYWHERE in California:
1. Use the library's unique link (see above)
If using an iPhone or Android device with an Huntington Beach Public Library card
1. Install the SimplyE app your mobile device:
  1. SimplyE app in iOS App Store
  2. SimplyE app in Google Play Store
2. Open SimplyE.
3. Tap "Find You Library" (note: it may take a moment for the list to appear).
4. Scroll until you see "California State Library" and tap on it.
5. Browse the various collections and locate your desired title.
6. To borrow a title, tap the "Get" button and
  1. Enter a library barcode and PIN number from your Huntington Beach Public Library card
7. To read your borrowed title, tap the "Books" icon on the bottom of the screen and tap the "Read" button.

Hoopla Digital

Hoopla Digital
Hoopla is a library media platform and app that allows users to instantly borrow and stream audiobooks, music, comics, eBooks, and movies with their Huntington Beach Public Library card. With Hoopla, you can stream movies on your computer and smart tv, download comics and books to read on your smartphone/tablet via the Hoopla app, and even listen to full albums and audiobooks via Android Auto of Apple CarPlay. You can currently borrow up to 5 items per month.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a personal computer:
1. Visit the library's unique link (see above)
2. Click the white "Sign Up" button (in the upper right-hand corner)
3. Select "Huntington Beach Public Library (CA)" in "Find Your Library"
4. Enter your Library Card Number and PIN in "Connect With Your Library"
5. Follow the prompts to create your free account
If using a smartphone or tablet:
1. Visit the following links to install the appropriate app.
  1. Android
  2. Apple
  3. Kindle
2. Follow the steps above to create your free account

Libby by OverDrive

Libby by OverDrive
Access thousands of e-books and audiobooks via your computer or mobile devices!  HBPL has moved from cloudLibrary to Libby by OverDrive as our main eBook provider, offering both eBooks and eAudiobooks for checkout.  The Libby App is free and available for Apple, Android and Windows devices, as well as Kindle, Fire, and many other eReaders.  Libby users can have 5 concurrent checkouts at any time.  For a peek at some of Libby’s features, watch the Meet Libby video.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE 

Mobile app:  iOS & Android:  Find Libby by Overdrive in your App store (iOS) or in Google Play (Android).  View Libby mobile apps here.
Desktop/laptop computer/Fire tablet:  Visit the Libby website here.
For all devices:  Follow the prompts to enter your library barcode number and library account PIN.

MeeScan

MeeScan
Want to avoid the checkout lines at the library? MeeScan is a mobile app that allows you to check out library books using your phone or tablet. MeeScan can only be used within the Central Branch Library. After logging in with your library card and pin, you use your device's camera to scan item barcodes. Before leaving, you take your books to a MeeScan station to deactivate your books and you and free to take your books, movies, and CDs home without having to wait in line. To see MeeScan in action, watch this video.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Download the app in the GooglePlay or Apple Store to your smartphone or tablet
Log into the app with your library card number and PIN

NoveList Plus

Novelist Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations. NoveList catalogs unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme. With NoveList, readers can better understand what they like about a particular book and find similar titles. Novelist contains full series information so that readers can read books in the author's intended order. For younger readers, try Novelist K-8 Plus.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a library computer:
1. Click the Novelist Plus link (see above) on this site
If accessing from a personal computer:
1. Click the green house icon next to the resource
2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
3. Click the "Novelist Plus" link on the provided list of resources

Palace Project

Palace Project
The Palace Project app is a free library-lending platform and ereader app for Apple and Android devices. In addition to granting HBPL cardholders access to all of our cloudLibrary e-books and e-audiobooks, the Palace Project grants readers free access to materials held in the CA State Library's Palace Marketplace collection, the Palace Bookshelf of open materials, and the California Enki BiblioBoard collection. Patrons can borrow up to 5 items at any single time.

Android users can view this video while Apple users can view this video for help getting started with this app. You can also click here for written instructions on setting up the Palace Project app.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a smartphone or tablet:
1. Download the appropriate app:
  1. Google/Android
  2. Apple iOS
2. Follow the prompts to select your library and input your library card number and PIN

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central is a great source for credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central contains a growing library of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Ebook Central is continually designed and developed to meet Level AA of the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1) and Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act. Downloaded materials can have color, contrasts, fonts, and magnification changed to aid in accessibility. Users can also change the Ebook Central website typeface to OpenDyslexic in the user preferences menu.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a library computer:
1. Click the "ProQuest Ebook Central" link (see above) on this site
If accessing from a personal computer:
1. Click the green house icon next to the resource
2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
3. Click the "ProQuest Ebook Central" link on the provided list of resources

Shelf Help from HBPL

Shelf Help from HBPL
Shelf Help from HBPL is a service offered by the librarians at the Huntington Beach Public Library. After completing our short survey, a library will provde 1-10 book or media reccomendations suited to your personal taste.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the library's unique link to access our form
Once you submit the form, a librarian will send their recommendations via email or phone
1. NOTE: Our librarians can also add their book recommendations to your library account in the library catalog. If you request this option, you can view our selections by logging into your account using the link below, and selecting "My Lists" from the top.

Resources in this Section

Enki California Digital Library

ProQuest Ebook Central

Shelf Help from HBPL

Logging in from Home

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a symbol.

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Access from Home" link below. For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

Home users login here first.