Guides: HBPL Digital Resources Library: Articles, Journals, and Newspapers

Britannica Escolar

Brittanica Escolar (En Español)
Si bien está dirigida a estudiantes de K-12, Britannica School es una excelente herramienta de investigación para estudiantes de todas las edades. La información está escrita por expertos, se mantiene actualizada y se examina a través de un riguroso proceso editorial. Los investigadores pueden elegir entre 3 niveles de lectura, hacer que los artículos se lean en voz alta y usar el diccionario de doble clic de Merriam-Websters para definir y escuchar palabras pronunciadas en inglés o español. Cada artículo también se puede traducir a más de 80 idiomas.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use el enlace único de la biblioteca para acceder.
Elija su nivel de aprendizaje y busque contenido confiable sobre una variedad de temas.

Britannica School

Brittanica School
While aimed at K-12 students, Britannica School is an excellent research tool for learners of all ages. Information is written by experts, kept up-to-date, and vetted through a rigorous editorial process. Researchers can choose between 3 reading levels, have articles read aloud, and use Merriam-Websters’s double click dictionary to define and hear words pronounced in English or Spanish. Each article can also be translated into over 80 languages.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the library's unique link to access (see above).
Choose your learning level and search for trusted content on a variety of subjects.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)
The California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside. This free collection of historic newspapers contains 758,935 issues comprising 8,688,063 pages and 45,139,073 articles. Researchers can browse historic newspapers by title, date, and even county of origin. The CDNC is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the link above to access this free resource.
Use the "Browse" icons to filter your search for historic, California newspapers.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer Reports (CR) is a nonprofit organization providing unbiased product ratings and reviews. Their flagship magazine and annual buying guides contain reviews and comparisons of consumer products and services based on reporting and results from its in-house testing laboratory and survey research center. As a non-profit with no shareholders, CR accepts no advertising, pays for all the products it tests. Huntington Beach Public Library cardholders are able to view product ratings and reviews by searching EBSCO MasterFILE Premier.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a library computer:
1. Click the Consumer Reports link (see above) on this site.
If accessing from a personal computer:
1. Click the green house icon next to the resource
2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
3. Click the "Consumer Reports" link on the provided list of resources.

Explora

Explora
- This link opens in a new window
Explora is an EBSCO research database aimed at helping students and library patrons find reliable infromation for personal and classroom research. Find articles, e-books, essays and primary source documents about popular topics from reputable publishers recognized by library professionals. Database searches in Explora can be filtered by source type, date range, Lexile range and content provider...including the Orange County Business Journal and the Wall Street Journal.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

If accessing from a library computer:
1. Click the library's Explora link (see above)
If accessing from a personal computer:
1. Click the green house icon
2. Use your library card number and PIN to login
3. Click the "Explora by Ebsco" link on the provided list of resources

Hispanic Life In America

Hispanic Life In America
Newsbank's Hispanic Life In America indexes news media that documents and records the experiences and impacts made by Hispanic Americans. This database contains news items spanning from 1704 to today.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number

New York Times

New York Times
The California State Library is pleased to offer the New York Times online for California Public Libraries. This link features direct access to world class journalism from 1851 to right now, including all articles, multimedia, as well as Spanish and Mandarin Chinese translations. You will need to request an access code every 72 hours to access the most current paper.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Click the black "Redeem" button
Enter your email address
Click the white button that reads "Log in without password"
Check your email for a link to access the NYTimes
1. You will need to repeat this process every 3 days or 72 hours.

Newsbank

Newsbank
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Users of NewsBank can easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's Newsbank link (see above)
Input your library card number

Orange County Register

Orange County Register
Newsbank provides electronic access to current issues of the Orange County Register. It also hosts the paper's archive of content going back to 1987. This archive contains published articles written by Register staff writers and weekly community papers. Not contained in this archive are photos, graphics, illustrations, and content from other news organizations and wire services such as the Associated Press.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number

ProQuest eLibrary

ProQuest eLibrary
ProQuest eLibrary contains a diverse collection of periodicals and digital media content for young researchers on a variety of subjects including language arts, history, math, science, social studies, political science, art, sports, health, & the performing arts. A built-in citation generator will help you cite your sources for papers and classwork.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer is an editorially curated reference database for basic research and is perfect for finding primary and secondary education assignments. Content is selected from authoritative newspapers (Orange County Register and Los Angeles Times), magazines, books, websites, and image collections. Editorially maintained topic pages will help students find sources for research on famous people, countries, animals, and pro/con topics. For a complete list of publications indexed in SIRS Discoverer, click here

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number

ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher

ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
If seeking to understand the major issues of the day, SIRS Issues Researcher offers balanced content selections from more than 2,000 international sources (including the Orange County Business Journal, Orange County Register, and Los Angeles Times). ProQuest editors curate content to cover the pros, cons, and everything in between, on the most studied issues. SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information and tools that equip students to think critically about global controversies. For a complete list of publications indexed in SIRS Issues Researcher, click here

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Click the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number

Resources in this Section

Brittanica Escolar

Brittanica School

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)

Consumer Reports

Explora

Hispanic Life in America

New York Times

Newsbank

Orange County Register

ProQuest eLibrary

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer

ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher

The New York Times

Logging in from Home

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a symbol.

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Access from Home" link below. For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

Home users login here first.