Guides: HBPL Digital Resources Library: Business and Career Resources

Brainfuse VetNow/JobNow

Brainfuse VetNow
Brainfuse VetNow is an all-in-one suite of services designed for a wide range of career or veteran needs...whether it’s tackling a resume, writing a cover letter, navigating the VA system, or adjusting to a civilian career. VetNow services include expert coaching and self-study tools. Users may access live, on-demand assistance from expert Job Coaches or Veteran Navigators. With VetNow, users can communicate in real time via an online whiteboard by typing, drawing, and marking-up lessons and web content. Plus, users can use a secure file sharing feature in the writing lab to submit career documents to Job Coaches any time of the day. The Brainfuse full-service test center offers practice tests for all levels in math, reading, and writing as well as college preparatory tests - including the SAT.

This resource is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library. Due to state-wide budget cuts, access to this resource will conclude on September 30, 2024.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number to access.

Coursera

Coursera
Coursera is an online course provider that focuses on helping individuals build the skills they need for in-demand jobs. It provides learners with access to more than 5,000 courses and certifications led by top businesses, universities, and organizations. Online courses offer subtitles in more than 50 languages and include: English for Business and Entrepreneurship (ESL), Foundations of Public Health Practice, Become an EMT, Bookkeeping Basics, Introduction to Google Docs, Design a Restaurant Menu, Food and Beverage Management, Branding: The Creative Journey. Coursera also contains “Gateway Certification,” a program for people without a college degree and with no experience in the field, built by leading companies such as Google. Facebook, and Salesforce.

This resource is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library. Due to state-wide budget cuts, access to this resource will conclude on September 14, 2024.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

To sign up for a limited number (25,000 for ALL of California) of free, one-year account, please use the California State Library sign-in widget on the "Create a Free Coursera Account" page.
1. NOTE: If no more free accounts are available, try checking back on Mondays when the California State Library make recalled Coursera accounts available to the public. UPDATE: As of February 5, 2024, all free accounts for the state of California have been claimed.
Use the library's link (see above)

Data Axle Reference Solutions

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Data Axle Reference Solutions is a business database that provides the most up-to-date consumer and business data on a total of 77 million businesses (including 17 million verified and 60 million unverified businesses). Information is updated weekly though nearly 24 million phone calls placed per year. In DataAxle, you can search businesses by company name, executive title, business type, sales volume, employee size, year established, and more. If you choose to create a personal account, you can save your searches and search criteria to aid in future list building.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the library's unique link (see above)
Input your library card number to access.

EBSCO LearningExpress

EBSCO LearningExpress Complete and Job & Career Accelerator
EBSCO LearningExpress Complete and Job & Career Accelerator has been made available to all public libraries in California via the California State Library as part of the American Rescue Plan Act to aid in recovery from the pandemic. It is aimed at helping students and professionals achieve their educational and career goals. EBSCO LearningExpress Complete and Job & Career Accelerator contains interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development resources. Students, who create a free account, will have access to academic skill-building, test prep and career-related resources. Professionals and job seekers, who create a free account, will have access to tools and resources needed for exploring careers, finding open positions, applying for jobs and getting hired.

This resource is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library. Due to state-wide budget cuts, access to this resource will conclude on September 30, 2024.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use library's unique link (see above)
Sign up for a free account
1. NOTE: Make sure to list "Huntington Beach Central Library" as your institution
Your email address will become your username and will be used for password reset, if needed.

Linkedin Learning

LinkedIn Learning
As part of the American Rescue Plan Act to aid in recovery from the pandemic, LinkedIn Learning has been made available to all public libraries in California via the California State Library. LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform tailored toward employee training and career/professional development. It contains an e-library of over 16,000 professionally produced and self-paced, online courses. These courses are consistently updated and translated across 7 languages (English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Mandarin, and Portuguese). If you are looking to develop skills to help further your career, look no further than LinkedIn Learning.

This resource is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library. Due to state-wide budget cuts, access to this resource will conclude on September 30, 2024.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE

Use the library's unique link (see above) to access
Input your library card number and PIN

Resources in this Section

Brainfuse VetNow

Coursera

Data Axle Reference Solutions

EBSCO LearningExpress Complete and Job & Career Accelerator

Linkedin Learning

Logging in from Home

Logging in from Home?

Some databases are marked with a symbol.

If you are connecting to these databases from home, you can click on that symbol or the "Access from Home" link below. For more assistance, see our Help Accessing Databases page.

Home users login here first.